Tahoe Mountain Sports 5th Annual Pro/Am Disc Golf Tournament a Huge Success!

The Tahoe Mountain Sports 5th Annual Pro/Am Disc Golf Tournament was a huge success October 8 and 9, selling out to the full 90 player capacity for the first time in five years!

The tournament, a PDGA Sanctioned “B” Pro/Am event brought high-caliber disc golfers from nine states across the country to the Tahoe Vista course.

Scott Murray of Athens Texas travelled to Lake Tahoe for the first time to attend the tournament.

“On a scale of one to 10 this was a 10 plus plus for sure,” Murray said. “The best thing was the people, and the scenery.”

It was also the first time Brock Shepard of Ogden Utah attended the Tahoe tournament, and he said he’d be back next year.

Steve Loyd, Colten Bates and Shane Timberlake all drove down from Idaho to compete.

“Tahoe is such a beautiful place, we’re having fun with friends and playing on a great course,” Timberlake said. “Disc golf is a great environment; a lot of different lifestyles come together.”

Nancy Shillinger, winner of the tournament’s biggest women’s field to date (open pro) and her son Ian Blue of Nevada City, said they loved the course and the competition.

Tahoe Mountain Sports owner and event organizer Dave Polivy said he couldn’t be happier with how the tournament went.

“I’d like to thank all our awesome sponsors for making this great weekend a success,” Polivy said.

Those sponsors include the North Lake Tahoe Resort Association, NutSac Disc Golf Bags, Vibram, Merrell Footwear, Hostel Tahoe, Ferrari’s Crown Resort, Tahoe Dave’s Skis & Boards, Faux Pro, Tahoe Valuation Services, Plumas Bank, Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort, Alpen Software, Brimm’s A Catering Co., LOKI, North Tahoe Public Utility District, Kavu and Tahoe Adventure Company.

Top Results:

Pro Open Men’s: Jere Eshelman (1st), David Madruga (2nd), Nathan Genthner (3rd)

Pro Open Women’s: Nancy Shillinger (1st), Leah Feltenstein (2nd), Nicole Bradley (3rd)

Masters: Steve Loyd (1st), Scott Miller (2nd), Nick Stellern (3rd)

Grandmasters: Jeff Fiedler (1st), Ken Swafford (2nd), Doug Werner (3rd)

Advanced: Neal Bownds (1st), Chris Bristow (2nd), Tony Lockard (3rd)

Advanced Masters: Terry Woods (1st), Don Hansler (2nd), Blake Tresan (3rd)

Advanced Grandmasters: Scott Murray (1st), Kevin McDermott (2nd), Doug Greenwood (3rd)

Intermediate: Jeremy Tjensvold (1st), Edward Poynor (2nd), Rory McLaughlin (3rd)

Intermediate Women: Cyndi Baker (1st), Mindy Carbajal (2nd), Kristen Kirkland (3rd)

Leave a Comment